Now that Taco Bell will have a menu directly marketed toward vegetarians, I feel it is important that I pass on some vital information about how to hack the original Taco Bell menu. Don't let these new "power veggie" items fool you. With these hacks, you can still eat all of the other calorie-filled, meat blasted items, veggie style!
You can literally substitute beans in any item that contains meat. Both the refried beans AND the black beans are certified fully vegan.
2. Order a Mexican Pizza with Beans (Vegetarian)
This is more of a menu suggestion and less of a hack, but I have ordered a Mexican Pizza with beans instead of meat every time I've eaten at Taco Bell for my entire life. Vegans can substitute the cheese for guacamole or extra tomatoes, because all the other components of the Mexican Pizza are totally vegan.
There is an option called Fresco style that allowed you to replace whatever sauce and cheese comes on an item with pico de gallo. You can also just ask to sub cheese for fresh tomatoes or onions instead, because sometimes the pico de gallo can make your item too watery.
4. Make Sure to Ask for No Cheese if You're Vegan
This might seem like a no brainer, but some items are tricky and you may not know that they usually add cheese. The bean burrito, for example, usually has cheese in it, as well as the side of refried beans.
If you're vegan, you can substitute anything that has sour cream with guacamole instead.
6. Add Potatoes
This is a great trick if you're ordering something that doesn't have much bulk to it, like a bean burrito.
7. Add Rice
Similar to potatoes, rice will add some bulk to your item and it's fully vegan.
8. Don't Eat the Red Tortilla Strips
They are made with carmine, which is a red dye that comes from crushing up beetles and filtering out their pigment. Not vegan or vegetarian.
The Cinnamon Twists are accidentally vegan!
10. All of the Tortillas, Flatbreads, Tostadas and Chalupa Shells are Vegan
That's right! With the exception of the Doritos Locos Taco shells and the biscuit taco shell, all other forms of shells are totally vegan.
11. Hashbrowns are Vegan!
This may or may not come as a surprise, but McDonalds hashbrowns and french fries are seasoned with "beef flavoring" and are not even vegetarian. Taco Bell has the right idea- they have chosen not to screw over the vegans and vegetarians of the world by making their hashbrowns like normal people do!
Most vegetarians know to look for rennet in their cheeses. Rennet is a microbial bacteria used in the production of most cheeses, and usually rennet is sourced from the gut of livestock. There are vegetable rennets, though, which are increasingly popular. But Taco Bell's cheese (as with most crappy, large scale production cheeses) is certified vegetarian.
13. Veganize the 7-Layer Burrito
7-layer burritos are one of those original vegetarian menu items that have existed for a long time. The layers are refried beans, guacamole, premium Latin rice, sour cream, tomatoes, lettuce and cheese. Ask for it Fresco Style to make it vegan! They will replace the sour cream and cheese with a pico de gallo style salsa.